TL;DR
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Canadian Tire Corporation says it will invest $200 million in Mark’s stores through 2028, expanding the banner’s Bigger, Bolder, Better format. The company reports higher new-customer acquisition at these locations, but has not disclosed how the investment will be allocated or provided store-level financial results.
Canadian Tire Corporation plans to invest $200 million in Mark’s stores through 2028, expanding its Bigger, Bolder, Better format after reporting strong results from early locations. The latest opening is Mark’s largest store to date, in Thunder Bay, Ontario; the rollout is part of CTC’s effort to grow the apparel banner and update its customer experience.
CTC said the new-format stores are a key driver of growth for Mark’s. The company says the format supports both the chain’s established industrial workwear business and its expansion in casualwear, with additional space for national and owned brands. It also aims to bring the Mark’s shopping experience to customers who may not have previously shopped at the banner.
Mark’s currently has 21 new-format locations in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec. During 2026, new stores opened in Calgary, Edmonton, Lloydminster, Sarnia, Guelph, North Bay and Thunder Bay, with one more planned by year-end. By the end of 2028, CTC expects 40 of Mark’s 387 stores to be new or converted to the format.
The Thunder Bay store measures more than 36,000 gross square feet. CTC describes it as offering a broader assortment, upgraded fitting rooms, a new service model and more omnichannel convenience. Its expanded clothing selection includes shop-in-shop experiences for Columbia, Silver Jeans, Carhartt, Timberland and Levi’s. Mark’s also sells its own brands, including Wind River and Denver Hayes.
CTC says new-customer acquisition at the new-format stores is up nearly 50%, compared with 7.5% across the rest of Mark’s network. The company also reports particularly strong responses from women and younger customers. Those figures are company-reported measures; the announcement does not specify the period used to calculate them or provide details about how acquisition is defined.
A Broader Push for Mark’s Apparel
The investment signals a larger commitment to Mark’s beyond its long-standing position in workwear. With more room for casual clothing and recognizable brands, CTC is seeking to make the chain relevant to a wider group of shoppers while retaining its industrial workwear base. The reported acquisition figures suggest the format may be bringing new customers into the stores, though they do not establish how much of that traffic will become repeat business or translate into profit.
For shoppers in communities selected for new or converted locations, the change could mean more product choice, updated fitting rooms and additional ways to shop across stores and digital channels. CTC has not identified every community in the rollout, so the near-term impact will vary by location.
The $200 million commitment also sits within a wider corporate spending plan. CTC’s True North strategy is a four-year growth plan that includes $2 billion in capital investment, with stated priorities including core retail growth, data-driven customer relationships, the Triangle Rewards ecosystem and focused capital allocation. The Mark’s announcement is one part of that broader plan, not the full amount of CTC’s investment.
Products Worth Considering

Bose SoundLink Plus Portable Bluetooth Speaker, Wireless Outdoor Speaker, Up to 20 Hours Battery Life, Waterproof and Dustproof, Black

Roborock Q7 M5+ Robot Vacuum and Mop

LEVOIT Air Purifier for Home, Pets, Bedroom, Smart WiFi
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the New Format Fits CTC’s Plan
Mark’s new concept is called Bigger, Bolder, Better. CTC says the format expands the store footprint and assortment, adds dedicated brand areas and updates the service experience. The Thunder Bay opening is the latest example, while the planned conversions and new stores will take the concept to additional urban centres and regional markets.
The company’s rationale rests on its reported performance from existing locations and an opportunity to grow Mark’s share of the casual apparel market. COO TJ Flood described the investment as backing a format that CTC says is bringing new customers to the banner. Mark’s president PJ Czank also cited customer response as a reason to extend the experience. These are company statements; the announcement does not include audited store-by-store sales or margin data.
CTC’s target of 40 new-format stores by the end of 2028 would represent a minority of Mark’s 387-store network. The plan therefore involves a measured expansion rather than a wholesale conversion of every location, although the company has not detailed which existing stores could be converted or how it will choose future sites.
“The strong response to our new stores gives us confidence to bring the experience to even more Canadians.”
— PJ Czank, president of Mark’s
Rollout Costs and Results Still Undisclosed
CTC has not provided a breakdown of how the $200 million will be divided among new stores, renovations, equipment or other expenses. It has also not named all planned locations or set out a year-by-year schedule beyond the stated 2026 openings, one additional store planned by year-end and the 2028 target.
The company’s reported customer-acquisition figures do not include a measurement window, a definition of a new customer or store-level sales and margin data. It is therefore not possible from the announcement to assess the investment’s return or compare results across individual locations. CTC has not said whether further performance figures will be released.
More Openings Planned Through 2028
CTC says Mark’s plans to open one more new-format store by the end of 2026, followed by continued expansion toward 40 new or converted locations by the end of 2028. The company has not yet specified the next location or a detailed timetable for the remaining stores.
Future updates may clarify where the format is expanding and how CTC is allocating the investment. The company’s stated schedule provides the current milestones; additional details on costs and store performance remain unannounced.
Key Questions
How much is Canadian Tire investing in Mark’s?
Canadian Tire Corporation says it will invest $200 million in Mark’s through 2028. It has not published a breakdown of how the funds will be spent.
What is the Bigger, Bolder, Better store format?
It is Mark’s newer store concept, which CTC says offers a larger footprint, broader workwear and casualwear assortments, upgraded fitting rooms, a new service model and more omnichannel convenience.
How many Mark’s stores are expected to use the format?
CTC expects 40 of Mark’s 387 stores to be new or converted to the format by the end of 2028. The company says 21 such locations are operating now.
Where have new-format Mark’s stores opened in 2026?
CTC lists openings in Calgary, Edmonton, Lloydminster, Sarnia, Guelph, North Bay and Thunder Bay. It says one more store is planned by the end of the year but has not announced its location.
Has Canadian Tire disclosed the financial returns from the new stores?
CTC says the format is delivering strong results and reports higher new-customer acquisition, but it has not provided detailed sales, profit or investment-return figures in the announcement.
Source: hardwareretailing.com
